Crunchy Cinnamon Apple Chips from Barefruit

Posted: February 14, 2013 in Goodies Co., Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Crunchy Cinnamon Apple Chips

Crunchy Cinnamon Apple Chips

Product Description:

These 100% natural apple chips are crisp and satisfying. They’re slowly baked in a wood-burning oven to intensify the apple’s natural sweetness, then kissed with a whisper of warm cinnamon. Only 50 calories per serving, no added sugar or preservatives.

I received a sample pouch of these apple chips in my December Goodies Box.

Tea Suggestion:

I love these apple chips as a tea-time snack!  The naturally sweet, apple-y taste goes along so well with this Dong Ding Oolong from Far Leaves, because I liked how the cinnamon notes of the chip and the sweet, apple flavor melded with the natural caramel-y undertones of the Oolong. It made for a really lovely treat!

What I Think:

Apple Chips are often a swing and a miss with me, because they are either so thin and wispy that they lack a good, strong, apple-y flavor or when cut thicker, they often lack crunch, making them more like soft, dry fruit chunks rather than something I’d call a chip.

These are great!  They thicker cut – no wimpy, thin cut apple slices here!  And they pack a crunch too!  These taste like apples with a lovely cinnamon accent.  They have a very pleasing, crisp texture that I want when I want a snack chip, and they are sweet and flavorful too.

I did get one or two “chewier” textured chips that were reminiscent of the aforementioned “soft, dry fruit chunks,” but overall, these were a definite HIT with me.

My Final Thoughts: 

Apple Chips are not something I frequently indulge in, primarily for the reasons I mentioned in my first paragraph of this review … I simply haven’t found apple chips that I found to be satisfying in both flavor and crunch.  These Apple Chips from Barefruit offer both sweet, delicious apple-y (and cinnamon-y!) flavor as well as a that great crunch that I look for in a chip-like snack.

Leave a Reply

