The Pepp from S’more Bakery

Posted: February 15, 2013 in Knoshy, Product Review

???????????????????????????????Product Description:

They’re here! The Peppermint S’mores hand crafted by New York City’s S’more Bakery. Handmade peppermint marshmallows are sandwiched between two dark chocolate + sugar grahams and spread with a layer of semisweet chocolate ganache.

I received a package of these S’mores in my December Knoshbox.

Tea Suggestion:

Since I wanted to really focus on the S’mores goodness here, I decided to go for something simple and straightforward, tea wise.  I chose this Basic Black Tea from Fashionista Tea.  The rich, smooth flavor of the tea made this S’mores treat even more delightful.

What I Think:

Oh my goodness.  These are good!

This is what the s'mores looked like when I took them out of the oven.

This is what the s’mores looked like when I took them out of the oven.

I baked them in my oven at 300 degrees.  The instructions on the back suggested a five minute bake time, so I set my timer for four minutes to check them… and at four minutes, they appeared to be barely warm.  I touched one, and there was no gooey-ness to the marshmallow.  So I set the timer for another two minutes, and when I returned they looked like this!  All melt-y and mooshy.  So messy that if you don’t like to have sticky fingers, you should eat it with a fork … me, I ate the first one with a fork but after that decided that s’mores should be fun so I picked one up and ate it.

Yummy!  These are s’mores, reinvented.  The cookie was soft and chewy, and it tasted a little like a graham cracker, but, I have to admit, I associate much of that crunch of the graham cracker with the graham cracker flavor … so I thought that the graham cracker experience was lacking just a little bit.  And after I finished the s’mores, I found myself thinking that it needed more chocolate (although, interestingly enough, I didn’t find myself thinking that at all while I was devouring them!) … but I really loved the peppermint aspect.  And the marshmallows were sublime!

My Final Thoughts:

These are perfect if you’re not sitting around a roaring fire, roasting marshmallows and able to make the S’mores the traditional way.  Or if you want a gourmet version of the treat.  Or anytime you want something absolutely yummy!  I love these, and I want S’more!  Sure, I found myself wanting more crunch from the graham, and … afterward, I found myself thinking about more of a ooey, gooey chocolate-y experience that you’d get from the traditional S’mores with a chunk of candy bar tucked between the roasted marshmallow and the graham cracker … but, while I was eating it, I was in a S’mores-y heaven.

Leave a Reply

