Roasted Chestnut Chocolate Bar from Ticket Kitchen

Posted: June 15, 2013 in Chocoholics Unite!, Knoshy, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

ticketbar

Product Description:

These roasted chestnut chocolate bars are crafted by the Ticket Kitchen of Sacramento. Roasted chestnuts are chopped up and gently mixed into fine couverture chocolate for a taste of nostalgia you won’t find anywhere else.

I received this bar of chocolate in my December Knoshbox!  (Yeah, I know, I’m behind!)

Tea Suggestion:

I prefer hot tea when I eat chocolate – they seem to go together really well.  And I usually prefer a black tea with natural cacao notes to it – like this Superfine Tan Yang Gong Fu Black Tea from Teavivre.  The naturally sweet notes of the tea brought out some of the deeper flavors of the chocolate and also nicely emphasized the flavor of the roasted chestnuts in the candy bar.

What I Think:

YUM!

This is a great chocolate bar.

First, I love it when the packaging is cute and clever like this chocolate bar is.  The shiny, gold mylar package is not all that special, but it’s been wrapped with a craft cardstock outer packaging that is folded “matchbook” style and secured close with a piece of decorative tape.  It just looks different and cool.

But, that would mean nothing to me if the chocolate inside the package wasn’t good – and this is delicious!  It’s milk chocolate, which isn’t my immediate choice in chocolate bars (I prefer dark chocolate) but, it is rich, smooth and creamy. It doesn’t taste overly sweet the way some milk chocolate bars can taste.  I can taste the deeper flavors of the cacao here.

And the roasted chestnuts are chopped very fine and give the overall bar a nice “crunch” bar kind of texture … but with tasty, toasty chestnuts instead of puffed rice.  The aftertaste (after the bar is gone … and it disappears way too fast!) is nutty and reminiscent of freshly roasted chestnuts.

My Final Thoughts:

I like this candy bar a lot!  And this isn’t my first tasting of Ticket Kitchen chocolates – I’ve had their hot chocolate on a stick in the past and enjoyed those quite a bit too.  I like it when I find a chocolate bar that’s just a little unusual – like this one with roasted chestnuts (not something you find in an everyday chocolate bar!) and check out some of their other unique flavors!  I think I’m going to have to try their Waffle Pecan Chocolate bar!

Leave a Reply

