I’m still behind!  I discontinued my Love with Food subscription at the end of April, so this was the last box that I received.  I actually enjoyed the Love with Food boxes, but, because I am so behind, I kind of felt like I needed to simplify for a while.  Maybe once I get caught up, I’ll resubscribe.

???????????????????????????????

For now, though, let me tell you about what my April Love with Food Box brought.  This month was all about “Weird, Wild and Wonderful Foods with Andrew Zimmern.”  The focus seems to be on foods that are unique and unusual.  Or as the theme says:  weird, wild and wonderful!

I’ve actually tried many of these products since receiving the box, so I’ll give you my rundown on what I thought of them here rather than writing a whole other review.

The first thing that I devoured from this box was the Salty Pepper Somersaults.  I knew I’d love these because … well, I’m no stranger to these yummy snacks.  In fact, I previously reviewed this particular flavor here.   I love Somersaults – they are crunchy, nutty, delicious snacks.

The second item I tore into were the Smoky Chili and Lime The Good Bean snacks.  Wowza!  These are chickpeas that have been generously flavored with smoky chili and lime flavors.  They are crunchy, nutty, and really quite tasty.  These chickpea snacks pack a punch of SPICY hot flavor!  But even though the chipotle chili flavored snacks are hot and spicy, they are not so spicy that I can’t taste the other flavors … I even taste the chickpea (and the texture of the chickpea is nice and crunchy – making for a very enjoyable snack time).  I taste the hint of lime and the touch of salt to these too.  It’s hot, spicy, tangy, and salty in one snack.  YUM!

I was less impressed with the third item that I tried from this box.  The Itty Bitty Butter flavored Air Popped Sorghum Grains were … alright, I guess.  They were like a less fluffy, harder version of the Half-Pops that I reviewed previously.  And while I really enjoyed the Half-Pops, I was not as impressed with the texture of these Sorghum Grains.  They almost tasted like what I’d imagine stale Half-Pops would taste like, but with less flavoring and more unpleasant crunchiness.  Normally, I love crunchy … but these were even too crunchy for me.  I just wasn’t into these.

The Lemony Lover Olives from Oloves are a different matter all together.  I polished these delightful olives off in no time flat.  I love the way the lemon and the garlic and hint of oregano melded with the flavor of the olive.  It was tangy and savory, and just plain delicious.  They are certainly not your ordinary green olives … these truly were a treat.

Also yummy were the Sea Salt and the Original Cocomels from JJ’s Sweets.  Of course, I knew I’d love these since I’ve previously reviewed them. Sweet, delicious, caramel goodness.  I love them, and I was thrilled that they were part of this box.

I still have not tried the Organic Fennel Pollen from Pollen Ranch … mostly because I haven’t figured out what I want to try this on.  But I will, because I have enjoyed the limited experience that I’ve had with Fennel Pollen!  I have also not yet tried the Creamy Buffalo Ranch Dip from Buff Lo Dip.  So, when I do get around to trying these, I will definitely be posting the reviews right here.  Hopefully … I’ll be caught up soon!  Ha!

Leave a Reply

