Snow Witch White Chocolate Brownie from Fat Witch Bakery

Posted: August 29, 2013 in Knoshy, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

???????????????????????????????Product Description:

Chelsea Market’s Fat Witch Bakery creates some of the best brownies we’ve ever tasted. The Snow Witch brownie is a white chocolate brownie that’s golden, chewy, moist and delicious. 

I received this Fat Witch brownie in my December Knoshbox.

Tea Suggestion:

With this sweet, chewy white chocolate brownie, I decided to go with a warmly spiced Chai like this Real Chai Tea Blend from Teas and Botanicals.

What I Think:

I love the texture of this brownie … this is exactly the texture I want from a brownie.  It’s got that soft, moist, almost fudge-like texture, but with enough crumb to the cake to remind you that you’re eating a brownie and not a piece of candy.

I can’t recall ever having a white chocolate brownie.  I’ve had a lot of traditional chocolate/fudge brownies, and a few “blondies” … but I can’t recall ever having a white chocolate brownie.

I found the texture of this brownie to be very enjoyable, I just found myself wishing that there was more of that dark, rich chocolate-y taste to this by the time I was about halfway finished with the bar.  I found this to be sweeter … cloying, even … than a typical brownie would be, and while it wasn’t really what I’d call off-putting, I did find myself needing to put the brownie away after I’d finished half the bar because it was overly sweet … something that would be better enjoyed in small bits rather than a whole confection.

My Final Thoughts:

This is tasty … but since I’m not as big a fan of white chocolate as I am of dark chocolate, I wasn’t as satisfied with this as I would have been with a dark chocolate brownie.  Positive:  I like the texture … not at all gritty, so smooth and decadent.  I could taste a butter-y kind of taste to it, and I found that enjoyable.  Negative:  It’s a bit sweeter than I would like it to be as I prefer the balance of bitter and sweet found in a dark chocolate.

Leave a Reply

