Bergamot Flavored Salt Water Taffy from Salty Road

Posted: September 11, 2013 in Knoshy, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
saltwatertaffy

Photo from Knoshbox.
Click on the pic to go there.

Product Information:

The Salty Road brings you delicious handcrafted saltwater taffy from Brooklyn, New York. Bergamot is the classic Earl Grey tea flavor. A chewy, floral, citrus treat with a signature sea salt crunch.

I received a box of these taffies in my August Knoshbox!

Tea Suggestion:

I considered the obvious choice – an Earl Grey tea – but, then I decided that since there is already plenty of bergamot flavor in these yummy confections, I didn’t need to amplify that.  Instead, I decided to complement it with a pure black tea, so I went with this Nuwara Eliya BOP Ceylon Tea from Upton Tea Imports.  I love how the natural fruit-y notes of the tea meld so beautifully with the chewy candy.  A really delicious tea time!

What I Think:

Being a tea enthusiast (actually, I think I’m probably more of an obsessed fanatic when it comes to tea!), and as Earl Grey Tea is one of my very favorite teas out there … I have been wanting to try these Bergamot flavored salt water taffies from Salty Road for a long time … ever since I first tried the Salty Peanut Taffy!  So I was very excited when there was a whole box of these taffies in my Knoshbox for August!

These are SO yum!  I contemplated reviewing them on the SororiTea Sisters tea review blog, but since these are flavored only with the bergamot essence and not with the tea … I decided against that.  But these are such a delicious way to experience bergamot!

The taffies are very chewy, and I also notice a delicate crunch as I chew on them … the crunch is from the sea salt that is in each and every taffy!  I love the salt in these … it brings the bergamot flavors out in a very unique way.  The bergamot is tart and tangy, but not to the point of puckering. A hint of a floral note that adds to the interest of these unusual but delicious candies. There is a “juiciness” to the flavor too, the candies are bursting with citrus-y flavor.

My Final Thoughts:  

I absolutely LOVE these bergamot taffies.  I might even like them better than the salty peanut flavored taffies!  My only complaint?  The box of taffies becomes empty way too fast! ha! I really MUST order more of these … as well as some of the other flavors that Salty Road offers!

Leave a Reply

