Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips from North Fork

Posted: September 17, 2013 in Knoshy, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

???????????????????????????????Product Description:

The ever popular blend of a tangy pure vinegar and  raw all natural salt complement each other perfectly and give  your taste buds a real punch.

I received a bag of these chips in my July Knoshbox!

Tea Suggestion:

When I eat salty snacks like potato chips, I really want iced tea.  I want something that’s easy to guzzle down to quench the thirst fast.  This Strawberry Mint Julep White Tea from 52Teas makes a really refreshing iced tea, and the sweet berry notes and crisp minty notes offered an enjoyable contrast to the tangy vinegar and salty chips.

What I Think:  

Salt & Vinegar chips are one of my favorite flavors, I love the contrast between the salty, the tangy and the hint of sweet that I get from these chips.  So, I didn’t mind a bit when these chips were featured in my July Knoshbox.

These are “Kettle” style chips, which means that they are thicker than your average potato chip.  They are crunchy … but what I’m liking is that even though they’re very crunchy … there is something different about this crunch.  You know how sometimes you get some of those other kettle-style chips out there, and there’s more crunch than substance?  The chip seems to be so crunchy that it’s difficult to bite into it.  These are crunchy … but they’re not “hard as a rock” crunchy.  They’re crunchy with that light “crispness” that a thinner potato chip has.

I can taste the potato here.  On North Fork’s “Our Story” page on their website, it says that the reason why the potato flavor shines through is because these are fried in 100% Sunflower Oil.  As someone who has not fried a whole lot of potato chips, I’m going to believe what they say based on two things:  1) I don’t fry a lot of potato chips so I really don’t know if there is a difference in oils or not, and 2) as I’m munching and crunching my way through this bag of chips, I can TASTE that there is definitely something different about these chips.

I also like that the salt and vinegar has not been overdone here.  They’re salty … sure.  They’re tangy and vinegar-y … yep.  But the flavor is not so overpowering that I’m not tasting the potato goodness that these chips have.  In some of the salt and vinegar chips that I’ve tasted, there is so much flavoring that is all I taste.  I like that I’m tasting the potato.

My Final Thoughts:  

These are really good.  I’d love to try some of their other flavors.  I find myself intrigued by their Sweet Potato flavor as well as their rosemary and garlic flavor.  I’d definitely consider ordering more of these!  They are definitely YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

