Cherry Berry Raw Cookie from Licious Organics

Posted: September 21, 2013 in Love with Food, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

???????????????????????????????Product Description:

Try our raw style unbaked honey cookie. It’s our option for those of us in the gluten free world and they’re delicious. Sweet and crunchy flavors meld with nutritious organic oats and delicious organic cherries and blueberries. Who says you have to sacrifice flavor to be gluten free!

I received a Cherry Berry Raw Cookie in my September Love with Food box!

Tea Suggestion:

I brewed up a cup of this Kenyan Black Tea from Justea … and I wanted something a little sweet to enjoy with my cuppa … and I reached for this raw cookie.  The tea was better than the cookie, but the tea certainly did make the cookie more enjoyable!

What I Think:

This is the first product from my September Love with Food Box that I reached for … I was wanting something a little sweet to go with my tea, and this is what appealed to me in my stash of treats.

This is a gluten free, raw cookie.  Contrary to the above description … there really isn’t anything in this cookie that would qualify to me as “crunchy” … it’s a tart, sweet, spiced, chewy “cookie” that sort of tastes … healthy.

Nothing wrong with that, of course.  It’s not bad … it’s actually pretty tasty, but I don’t think I’d go out of my way to order this particular product, for a few reasons:  First … it’s a bit more tart than it is sweet.  I’m not a big fan of tart, and I do have a bit of a sweet tooth, so I really prefer the balance to be the other way around … that is, more sweet than tart.  Second, this goes a little overboard on the cinnamon.  I like cinnamon, but there’s just too much in this cookie.

OK, so I told you what I wasn’t crazy about with this cookie, so now I’ll mention what I do like about this:  I like the chewy texture, the coconut and the fruity taste.  It’s a hunger satisfying cookie.

My Final Thoughts:

Not my favorite gluten free product that I’ve ever tried.  Not my favorite “raw” product that I’ve ever tried.  It’s not bad and I wouldn’t turn it down if I were offered one of these cookies … but it’s not something I’d buy.

Leave a Reply

