Toasted Sesame Seed Graham Crackers from Whitney’s Castleton Crackers

Posted: September 23, 2013 in Knoshy, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
CastletonGraham

Photo from Knoshbox.
Click on the Pic to go there.

Product Information:

Castleton Crackers does it again! These all natural, hand made crackers are unlike any graham you’ve had before; toasted sesame seeds are baked in to create a unique, nutty flavor that will tempt you to devour the entire box.

I received a box of these crackers in my July Knoshbox.

Tea Suggestion:

I’ve been on a bit of a chai kick lately … probably because the cooler weather of autumn inspires it!  When I enjoyed these crackers as is … I chose to prepare a chai latte using this Star Anise Masala Chai from Blue Lotus Chai.  I loved the way the spicy chai contrasted with the salty sweet crackers.  When I ate these crackers as S’mores, I went with something more basic, like this Lapsang Souchong from the English Tea Store.  This was a perfect pairing, because the smokiness of the Lapsang gave the gourmet S’more made with the roaring heat of the broiler in my oven a bit of that campfire authenticity.  Yum!

What I Think:

These are crazy good!  They have the naturally sweet taste of a graham cracker, with a savory salty note and nutty sesame seeds.

They are crunchy and tasty … and they satisfy not only that hunger that tends to have one grabbing for cracker snacks, but they also satisfy one’s craving for both salty and sweet.  These are really unlike any graham cracker I’ve ever tried.  I like that they’re not too salty – just a delicate sprinkling of salt to these.  And they’re not too sweet – the salt cuts through some of the sweetness to bring balance and deliver a not-too-sweet sort of snack.

I’ve sampled these a couple of different ways.  First, I tried them right out of the package with a cup of tea.  They were very good that way.  Then I tried them with some cheese spread.  The saltiness of the cheese brought out the more savory qualities of the cracker but did not completely overpower the sweeter side of the graham.  This made for a very unique and tasty experience.

Finally, I decided to get out the Elephant Ear Marshmallows from 240Sweet that was also included in this box, and I roasted the marshmallows atop some chocolate which I placed on a couple of the larger crackers in the box for a unique twist on s’mores.  Yummy!  Using these crackers as the base of s’mores (especially when a sugary marshmallow like the Elephant Ear Marshmallows are used) is when I really got to appreciate the salty notes of the cracker … It was a salty sweet TREAT!

I also tried these with some Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter from Peanut Butter & Co. and it was out of this world good.  (My review for this chocolate peanut butter will be posted tomorrow!)  Again, I liked the way the salty and sweet interacted here.

My Final Thoughts:

However you choose to serve these … these crackers are really good.  The best graham crackers I’ve ever tasted.  I was reading the box and noticed that they also have lemon ginger flavored graham crackers … those sound insanely good, too!  I think I’m going to have to try those at some point!  Maybe Knoshbox will be good to me and have a lemon themed box someday … and include these as part of that box.  Hey … Knoshbox, are you listening?

Leave a Reply

