Organically Grown Utah Cherries from All Good Provisions

Posted: October 2, 2013 in Knoshy, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

???????????????????????????????Product Description:

Organically grown cherries, straight from the farm! These delicious dried cherries are coming to you from Utah’s organic farms thanks to All Good Provisions.

In 2011 this Park City, Utah startup began their journey to bring healthy snacks to the world. They’re proud contributors to 1% for the planet, where a percent of their sales go to support global environmental efforts.

I received a pouch of these cherries in my August Knoshbox.

Tea Suggestion:

These dried cherries make a great tea time snack along with just about any tea, but, I chose a pure tea since the cherries pack enough flavor on their own.  I love the way the toasty flavor of this Autumn Houjicha from Yunomi along with its nutty tones and hints of caramel complimented the sweet-tart flavor of the cherries.  A really unexpectedly delightful flavor combination!

What I Think:

These have a sweet and tart taste, with a texture that reminds me of Craisins except that they aren’t quite as sticky as Craisins … nor are they quite as tart as Craisins.  Because … well … these are cherries!

What surprised me from the first moment I bit into one of these dried cherries is just how much juicy flavor they offer!  They pack a real punch of cherry taste in each little morsel!

Cherries aren’t really a fruit that I often look for as a dried fruit as I tend to prefer them as a fresh fruit.  What can I say?  I grew up in Southern California, and every summer, as our school vacation came close to being over … my father and step-mother would take all of us kids (I had three step-siblings and one half-brother) south to Cherry Valley and we’d pick bushels and bushels of fresh cherries.  It was a pretty good deal to pick the fruit ourselves – we got the cherries for a fraction of what you’d pay in the store, and the quality was better because these were picked right at their prime … plus, we were known to pop a few in our mouth as we were picking them!  YUM!

So, I’m not really one to eat a lot of dried cherries.  I love ’em fresh (or frozen … they’re really yummy frozen … like little tiny, bite-sized popsicles!)  But these … these cherries could make a believer out of me.  I like the way these taste.  It’s making me think how they’d be in a bowl of oatmeal made from steel cut oats (I can’t eat the rolled oats oatmeal anymore … I love steel cut oats!) or perhaps in a chocolate chip cookie.  Now that … sounds amazing.

These are really tasty!

My Final Thoughts: 

Yeah, I’m liking these!  I’ll admit that I wasn’t like overjoyed that these were part of the Knoshbox for August … I was kind of ho-hum about it and much happier to dig into the cotton candy or the kettle corn, but, these are really good!  They’d be a great addition to a homemade trail mix.

Leave a Reply

