Blueberry Fruit Bar from Betty Lou’s

Posted: October 21, 2013 in Love with Food, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

???????????????????????????????Product Information:  

A delicious gluten-free all-natural snack with the taste of homemade baked cobbler! All sugars come from natural fruit and fruit juice. For as little as 180 calories, both kids and adults will love and devour each blueberry-licious bar!

I received a blueberry fruit bar in my September Love With Food box.

Tea Suggestion:

These fruit bars make a great tea time snack with just about any kind of tea, but, I decided to go with something with nutty tones to bring out some of the sweet, nutty, cobbler-like flavors in the crust of the fruit bars.  I chose this Laoshan Genmaicha Green Tea from Verdant Tea.  A really interesting pairing, although I think that this bar would also go great with a white tea or a black tea!

What I Think:

Really yummy!

This is gluten free too!  Gluten free has never really been something that I’m concerned with, but, I know that gluten sensitivity is something that affects a lot of people, and I like that more and more foods are becoming available for those who are concerned about gluten.

I don’t miss the gluten in this!  This is seriously tasty.  The “cookie” or “cake” part of the bar is soft and chewy, similar to the softness and chewiness you’d find in a typical fig bar, but, it has an oat-y taste and texture that is somewhat reminiscent of a cobbler.  It’s kind of like a blueberry cobbler in a bar … which makes it easy to take a delicious dessert on the go!

The blueberry filling is sweet and slightly sticky … again, similar to what you might find in a fig bar (only it’s blueberry!)  It tastes a lot like a blueberry pie or cobbler filling but it isn’t runny like a cobbler.  Again … this is like cobbler on the go.

My Final Thoughts:

A really satisfying dessert bar.  This bar is something that disappeared quickly … it tasted really good.  Makes a great tea-time treat.  I love the oats in this … I love how the traditional “fig-like bar” becomes almost like a cobbler.  So yummy!

Leave a Reply

