Black Pepper Pistachios from Graze

Posted: December 5, 2013 in Graze, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
blackpepperpistachios

Picture from Graze.
Click on the pic to go there.

pistachios, salt, natural black pepper flavors

I received a tray of these pistachios in my November Graze Box.

Tea Suggestion:

I recommend a fruity iced tea to drink while snacking on these flavorful nuts.  I drank some of this Acai Squeeze from Argo Tea – a ready to drink tea?  Yes!  The tart, fruity notes offered a really interesting contrast to the peppery kick of the pistachios.

What I Think:

Of the four snacks that I received in this month’s Graze box, this was the snack I was least excited about.  Don’t get me wrong, I love pistachios!  But, I have tried a salt and pepper version of pistachios before and I wasn’t all that excited about it.  I mean … it was alright, but, it wasn’t something that I’d ever buy again, and because we purchased a rather large bag, some of those pistachios ended up wasted because they weren’t as good as I imagined them to be.

???????????????????????????????So … I had my misgivings when I opened the tray of these pistachios.  But these are really tasty, and much better than I remember that previous version of salt and pepper pistachios.

First of all, these aren’t overly salted.  There’s a small amount of salt on these, just enough to bring out the natural flavors of the nut and to enhance the pepper.

Second, the pepper isn’t overdone either.  It’s the perfect amount of pepper.  It is enough so that there is a distinct peppery kick but not so much that I feel like I need to take a sip of tea in between each nut.  Neither seasoning is so overdone that the pistachio is overwhelmed.

My Final Thoughts:

The nut tastes toasty and has a pleasant crunch.  The pepper adds a pleasing contrast to the sweetness of the pistachio.  Not too salty, not too spicy … just the right balance of flavor with this snack.  I like it a lot more than I thought I would.

Leave a Reply

