Maple Fudge from Laura Secord

Posted: December 8, 2013 in Love with Food, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
maplefudge

Photo from Love With Food.
Click on the pic to go there.

Product Information:

If Willie Wonka had a Canadian Cousin who was not only obsessed with making delicious candy, but luxurious and premium chocolate as well then Laura Secord would be her name. This delicious fudge is made with authentic maple syrup from the spacious Canadian hillside. Enjoy!

I received a chunk of this Maple Fudge in my November Love with Food box!

Tea Suggestion:

I wanted a deep, rich black tea to enjoy with this maple fudge, so I chose this Kaporet Kenya Black Tea from Single Origin Teas to drink while enjoying this amazing confection.  The combination of the robust tea with the decadent fudge was sublime!  The sweet fudge brought out some of the fruit-y nuances of the tea and made this tea taste even better (and it was pretty amazing to begin with!)

What I Think:

YUM!  Maple is definitely one of my favorite fall flavors.  One of the things that I look forward to when fall comes is the maple sugar candy that I find in Whole Foods.  However, I think I may have found a new favorite fall candy.  This Maple Fudge is outstanding.  It’s so maple-y sweet and decadent.  The texture is soft and smooth.

But here’s the thing when it comes to candy like fudge:  it becomes cloying very quickly.  Yes, I have a sweet tooth, but, even when my sweet tooth is in overdrive, I can only handle so much fudge until I start to feel that sickly feeling like I’ve had too much.  And let’s face it … fudge is so tasty that it’s sometimes hard to find that fine line from I’ve had just enough to I’ve had too much!

So I like that these individually wrapped pieces of fudge are just the right size.  One piece of fudge (or even a half a piece!) is enough to satisfy the sweet tooth.  I don’t have to “cut myself off” because there is a limit in the packaging.  And because each piece is individually wrapped, I don’t have to worry about the fudge going stale.  I like that!

My Final Thoughts:

A really delicious candy.  I like that they are individually wrapped, and the size is just right.  The taste and texture is fresh and soft and very enjoyable – much more so than the typical chunk of fudge.  This is so good!  So decadent!

Leave a Reply

