Old Salties Peanuts from Ovenly

Posted: January 2, 2014 in Knoshy, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
oldsalties

Photo from Ovenly.
Click on the pic to go there.

Product Information:

Named best bakery in NYC by Time Out New York in 2013, this creative kitchen explores culinary traditions with a twist. These ‘Old Salties’ are the perfect beer nut to snack on during the game; they’re roasted in bacon fat, tossed with Worcestershire sauce and coated in Old Bay Seasoning.

I received a pouch of Old Salties Peanuts in my November Knoshbox.

Tea Suggestion:

These peanuts are very zesty and you’ll want to have a tall glass of iced tea nearby when you start munching on them.   Might I suggest some yummy Butter Beer flavored Iced Tea from Southern Boy Teas?  The sweetness of the tea contrasts nicely with the spice of the peanuts.

What I Think:

I’ve been wanting to try these well-spiced peanuts for a while now.  I don’t recall off-hand where it was I had heard about them, I think it may have been in one of the Foodzie boxes that I didn’t receive (remember the last few months of Foodzie when we could choose our box?  My mind keeps going back to the “Brooklyn” box that I turned down in lieu of receiving the Earth Day Box.  (I could be wrong, but, I think these were featured in the Brooklyn Box.)  It was this product that was luring me toward choosing the Brooklyn Box but ultimately, some of the Earth Day Box products seemed more enticing.

And what was it about these nuts that attracted me?  Well, the BACON part.  The shelled peanuts are first roasted on bacon fat, and then they’re flavored with Worcestershire sauce and Old Bay seasoning.  Old Bay seasoning is one spice that is usually in my cupboard because I love the way it flavors fish, and I also love sprinkling it over my freshly popped popcorn.

There is a generous amount of Old Bay seasoning on these peanuts!  I can taste the pepper and the paprika – these are very strong, well-pronounced flavors.  I can also taste the Worcestershire sauce.  I’m wishing that I could taste more evidence of the bacon fat roasting though.  These are very salty, and if I pop a few of them in my mouth at the same time and sort of let the seasoning move around on my palate, I can taste the bacon-y notes, but, the bacon lover in me wants more bacon!

My Final Thoughts:

Really tasty.  Ovenly does NOT skimp on the spice here.  The spice is strong and bold and it’s got one heck of a kick to it … it leaves my mouth tingling from the spice.  I’m glad I’ve got this iced tea!

Leave a Reply

