MyThai

Photo from Graze
Click on the pic to go there.

Product Information:

sweet chilli sauce with baked soy bites

I received a tray of this snack in my December Graze Box.

Tea Suggestion:

I decided that iced tea seemed the ideal choice for this snack.  And since it’s a Thai inspired snack, I went with a lime flavored tea, specifically, this Key Lime Cheesecake flavored Iced Tea from Southern Boy Teas!  The tangy lime and cream cheese notes played perfectly with the spicy-sweet sauce in this snack.

What I Think: 

YUM!  After taking my first bite of this My Thai Snack from Graze, I immediately clicked on the “Love” button on the Graze website.  This snack is the perfect snack for me.   The whole snack tray is just 84 calories, too!

The baked soy ‘bites’ are little rounds that are thicker than a chip – they remind me of “tater tot rounds” which are about a third as tall as a typical tater tot.  These are about the same size as those tater tot rounds.  They are crispy and have a light texture to them.  They are lightly salty, and really, that’s mostly all you taste.  You get a little bit of salt and a whole lot of crunch … but no extraneous flavors to interfere with the delightful taste of the sweet and spicy sauce.

Then again, I’m not eating them without the sauce … so I can’t say with certainty that if I were to focus on the flavor of these soy bites that there wouldn’t be more that I could taste from them.  The sauce is just too amazing to not dip the soy bite into!

The sauce looks a bit like a jelly.  It is sweet and spicy, and there is a delicious balance between these two contrasting notes.  The sweet tastes a bit like a sugared sweetness … not really like honey or other sweetener.  The spiciness comes from the chili pepper (you can see the flakes throughout the sauce).  There is a slight vinegar-y tang to the sauce, and perhaps just a hint of garlic.  But mostly, what I taste is the sweetness and the spiciness of this sauce … and I love it.  I want a jar of this stuff.

My Final Thoughts:

LOVE!  This just may be my favorite snack that I’ve tried from Graze yet.  I’d be thrilled if they sent this my way every single month.  Oh!  And I didn’t let the extra sauce go to waste, either.  We had some chips in the pantry – Original Pringles – which are not as healthy a choice as the soy bites and did add to the calorie count of the snack (probably more calories than I care to know!), but I didn’t want to waste a single bit of this sauce.  I love it.  The chips tasted great with the sauce too.

Leave a Reply

