New Mexico Chili & Pumpkin Seed Brittle from Morning Glory

Posted: March 29, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Morning Glory Confections on Foodzie

Product Description:

Morning Glory’s New Mexico Chili & Pumpkin Seed Brittle uses earthy and hot New Mexico chile powder, cumin, coriander, Mexican oregano and other spices to create a taste experience that lingers long after the brittle is gone.

What I Think:

I ordered these tasty bits of brittle after I saw another brittle from the same company (their Chai Tea and Cashew Brittle, which I shall review at a later date on the SororiTea Sisters Blog) on the homepage of Foodzie.  I was intrigued by this particular brittle because I love pumpkin seeds and I love the combination of spicy and sweet… this brittle seemed promising!

cute little plastic box - keep it and reuse it!

The brittle is packaged in a cute plastic box and is reasonably priced at just $5.  There are four pieces of brittle in each box, two large pieces, and two that are about half the size of the large pieces (so, I guess one could technically say that there are three “whole” pieces of brittle in each box).  The brittle is quite thick at 3/8 to 1/2 inch thick!

This brittle is an explosion of flavor.  The crunchy brittle is sweet and buttery and just like other brittle candies I’ve had, starts out with a lot of crunch and then turns kind of caramel-y sticky in the mouth.  YUM!

The chili does not hit the palate until about midway through the first bite, and then POW!  This brittle delivers a powerful kick of spice!  That spicy taste stays with you, too.  It is a long, lingering, WARM aftertaste (or shall I say burn?) that is quite pleasant.  However, if you don’t like spicy treats, this is not the brittle for you.

That’s not to say that this is extraordinarily hot – it isn’t.  I would categorize it somewhere between warm and medium heat.  Not quite mild, not too hot.  For this palate, it’s just right!

I love the texture and flavor of the pumpkin seeds.  They don’t really seem to present a lot of flavor at the start, but as I continue to snack on these confections (and I can’t seem to stop snacking on them!) the flavor develops.

My Final Thoughts:

This tasty treat offers a palate-full of flavor – spicy, sweet, and salty – all in one bite.  And, in case you’re wondering, I recommend sipping on a white tea (like this one from Imperial Tea Garden)with this treat.  White tea has cooling properties to it, and it will help soothe the palate!

Leave a comment