Breakfast at Subway

Posted: March 16, 2011 in Restaurant Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

photo from Subway website

Whenever my youngest daughter misses the bus and we need to drive her to school, my husband and I take that as an opportunity to go out for breakfast.  Usually, we go to Sheri’s, but yesterday, we decided to get something to go.  We had been meaning to try Subway’s new breakfast menu for a while now, so it seemed like a good opportunity to do just that.

Location: 11409 NE 28th St.,  Vancouver, WA   Store # 23581

Order: Double Bacon, Egg & Cheese 6-inch Flatbread Omelet sub

Specifics: Egg, bacon, cheddar cheese and tomato were toasted on the flatbread.  When finished toasting, a few onion slivers and olive slices were added to the omelet as well as a squirt of their Southwest Chipotle sauce to spice things up.

What I think:

First of all, I have to say that I really love the flatbread from Subway.  It’s soft, chewy and mild in flavor.  I love the texture that it brings to the subs.

That being said, even the flatbread couldn’t save this sandwich.  The eggs were rubbery.  The bacon was limp and so thin that it lent practically zero flavor to the sandwich.

The best part of this sandwich was the flatbread, the toasty tomato and the zesty flavor and crispness of the onion.  The sauce has a little bit of spice to it, but it is more mayo than anything else, and it along with the cheddar cheese became the most dominate flavors of the sandwich.

Overall impression:

The sandwich was edible, mostly because I was hungry.  However, I don’t think that I was inspired enough to ever go back to Subway for breakfast again.  I think I will stick to their classic subs.

My Final Thoughts:

The best thing about this Subway breakfast is that it happened to also be a Tuesday morning, and Tuesday is 25 cent cookie day… and I love those Raspberry Cheesecake Cookies from Subway!  The breakfast omelet sub was, at best, forgettable.

Comments
  1. Thank you for a great post.

Leave a comment